Fishing

Youth Angler Averie Rose On Shimano LIVE

The passion for fishing starting at a very young age and has put Averie Rose on a mission: She wants young anglers to get ‘HOOKED’ – the name of her new show now airing on Bell Fibe TV in Canada – and she is anxious to explain how kids of all ages can enjoy the fun of fishing when she joins host JP DeRose on Shimano’s ‘Fishing School’ LIVE series this Wednesday, August 12 on Facebook and YouTube starting at 8 pm EST (7 pm CST, 5 pm PST).

Averie started her popular YouTube channel before she was even a teenager, telling viewers how she’s learned to cast jerkbaits to catch smallmouth and how to fool largemouth bass with bladed jigs. She’ll share her thoughts on not only catching bass but also walleye, lake perch, and northern pike. Plus, JP will talk with her about the needed tackle, her advice on learning how to use baitcasting reels — Averie is an avid fan of Shimano’s SLX reels — and other tips on how youngsters can join her in her mission on getting hooked on fishing.

To view the live event, visit https://www.facebook.com/FishShimanoNorthAmerica, or on YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/user/FishWithShimano.

Throughout August into September, Shimano will continue it’s Fishing School’ live events focusing on fishing situations that will start to heat up leading into the fall. “Our focus turns to  Lowcountry fishing with Capt. John Irwin on August 26, and then pro bass angler Greg DiPalma joins JP on September 2,” said Blaine Anderson with Shimano. “On September 9, Seth Funt joins us again to talk about his techniques for daytime swordfishing.”

Visit Shimano’s Facebook page for future show topics and other information. You can also view past ‘Fishing School’ events on largemouth and smallmouth bass, tarpon, striped bass, snook, snapper, redfish, and deep-drop swordfish, as well as the growing high school/college bass fishing scene.