When was your first time to cross the Columbia bar??

bajadan2000

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Dec 13, 2005
Vancouver, Wa.
Name
Dan
Boat
Shamrock Predator, "Bay Dreamin'"
Here is my story.

The year, 1977 and I am a newbie to power boating.

The plan, Salmon fish inside of buoy 10.

The crew started with an older good friend that was X-Navy and had lots of salt time and fishing experience. He brought along a kid that was dating his daughter. The plan was to take three out and return with two. He hated this kid, and for good reason.

The boat, an 16' open aluminum with a main and small kicker motor for Salmon trolling. No electronics or safety gear other than lifejackets. It was just big enough for bay or lake fishing 3 people on a calm day. Not a good boat to fish buoy 10 or cross the bar with.

Hammond was our launch port. Me running the boat and X-navy tying up our tackle as we head towards buoy 10. I did have a lot of time white water kayaking and was used to rough water, X-navy had been through hurricanes in the Navy. the kid was sea sick before we got out of the port and was already scared..

This was my first time on the Columbia and I had no idea what I was doing. Buoys are flying by and not another boat in sight. I asked X-navy if everything was Ok? Without every looking up from tying tackle and checking he said, just head towards buoy 10, turn around and run on the kicker when we get there. OK, just doing what I am told.

At buoy 10, I shut down the main, start up the kicker and start trolling back up river, except we are not going up river, we are still going out to sea on a very fast outgoing tide, which X-navy forgot to check.

X-navy finally got the idea that maybe something was not right and agreed that running on the kicker in the fast outgoing tide was not such a good idea. By the time we got the main going and the kicker up we had crossed over the Columbia bar.