What is the deal with Hawaiian Marlin? Steroids?

Start Me Up Sportfishing

hooksetter6

Almost A Member
Aug 2, 2012
Colorado Springs, Co/USA
Name
Larry
Boat
No Name
Hi all,

Can somone who has fished Hawaii and elsewhere like maybe Central America and has experience with Marlin from both places tell me if the fish there are stronger for some reason? Seems like they fish alot heavier gear there than anywhere else.

I am by no means an expert or overly experienced Marlin Fisherman, but, I have fished quite a bit in Central American (Panama and Costa Rica) and have caught a few up to 600# both Blacks and Blues, and have never fished a reel larger than a Penn 50S w/ 80# dacron. OK, so you realize it has been a while since I fished that old set up, but it worked then so I imagine it would work now.

Sure I did lose a few bigger fish (one I am pretty sure was a Grander Black) but that was with the gear of the time. With the vast improvements in the gear since my time in Panama (1990-1994), Rods, Reels and Line have made it so much more enjoyable to fish with light setups. With reels now the size of an old Penn 30w cranking exceptional drags far stronger than anything even the size of a 130 of yesteryear, and braided line so strong and much thinner allowing greater line capacities, I just can't imagine fishing anything so heavy.

So, again, are those fish really that tough? I need to get over there and check them out. Luckily a friend from here is retiring in a few weeks and is buying a charter business over there, so maybe I will get the chance sooner than later.

Thanks and Tight Lines.

Larry aka Hooksetter6

Upvote 0

rick marin

Nothing new here
Dec 24, 2006
lemon grove
Name
rick marin
Boat
H & M fleet
This is why they use the heavy gear in Hawaii!

1805lb_bluemarlin_Choy_Honolulu_1970.jpg

Upvote 0
Feb 6, 2015
Name
John Johnson
Boat
32' regulator