wellcraft coastal updates

Discussion in 'Check Out My Boat Customization' started by socaldieseltech, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    I bought this boat last year and I've since put a new engine, rebuilt drive, rewired it, mostly just working on making it seaworthy. I've finally gotten around to the aesthetics and I removed some decals, buffed and installed a new rub rail. Arch should be here tomorrow. Getting excited! 20140330_172322.jpg 20140409_150149.jpg
     
  2. Ali

    Ali Master of Nothing Admin

    Location:
    San Diego
    Name:
    That Guy
    Boat:
    31' Innovator
    • Messages:
      (22,008)
    • Likes Received:
      (4,657)
    Wow. That looks 100 times better!

    Nice work.
     
  3. Bigeasy

    Bigeasy yeah, yeah!

    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    Name:
    Eric W.
    Boat:
    Tunacious 238 Coastal Twin 150-E
    • Messages:
      (1,540)
    • Likes Received:
      (281)
    Did you paint it?
     
  4. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    I painted only the thick red part just below the rubrail. It was gelcoat. The rest I just removed the decals, wet sanded and buffed. That shit is a real pain in the ass. I'm not sure how long the paint will last but if it even lasts 2 years I will be happy. The painting was the easy part
     
  5. drumford

    drumford gotta go babe!

    Location:
    C.M. CA
    Name:
    Dondo
    Boat:
    Cory's Rig
    • Messages:
      (2,471)
    • Likes Received:
      (564)
    Nice work!!!
     
  6. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
  7. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    Here's another picture. I also made a new dash out of plexi. I deleted the speedometer and put the hds unit in the dash. I put all new hoses in the bilge as well. 20140409_160738.jpg 20140409_160655.jpg 20130713_205458.jpg
     
    gved823 likes this.
  8. MikeyLikesIt

    MikeyLikesIt did you say F I S H I N G ???

    Location:
    East-a-La-Mesa, baby!
    Name:
    starts with an "M".....
    Boat:
    #1 boat scrubber - Team Madrugador
    • Messages:
      (9,865)
    • Likes Received:
      (3,078)
    3 thru hulls? 1 for bait, 1 for wash down, what is the 3rd one for? (the one with the giant vinyl tubing)

    the hull looks sharp! nice work.
     
  9. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    It's the drain for the bait tank. Is that not normal?
     
  10. MikeyLikesIt

    MikeyLikesIt did you say F I S H I N G ???

    Location:
    East-a-La-Mesa, baby!
    Name:
    starts with an "M".....
    Boat:
    #1 boat scrubber - Team Madrugador
    • Messages:
      (9,865)
    • Likes Received:
      (3,078)
    NO! You don't want that draining to a thru hull on the bottom of the boat. That drain needs to be connected to a thru hull AT or only slightly below waterline, like out the side, or out the transom.....NOT THE BOTTOM. The way you have it set up, the water draining from the bait tank has to overcome the force of the water attempting to rise in from below the waterline......it will eventually drain, but not well. depending on your bait pumps output, and how high the bait tank sits above the waterline, you might have the bait tank overflowing.

    I am certainly no expert, but both the boats I have owned, and the many others I have either fished on, or worked on, do NOT have a bait tank drain connected to a thru hull out the bottom.

    Did you add that, or was it already there?
     
  11. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    It was already there. This boat has been full of pleasant surprises. I took it for granted that it was ok. I even removed all the thru hulls to clean them up and reseal them. Funny thing is, the bait tank works great and keeps bait really well. I do understand that it could be a safety issue so I'll have to plug that and put the drain out the side, above the water line. I guess while I'm at it it's time to ditch all the plastic and get bronze thru hulls. And add another bilge pump and high water alarm. Thanks for pointing that out for me......I just thought it was normal. Ugh!
     
  12. MikeyLikesIt

    MikeyLikesIt did you say F I S H I N G ???

    Location:
    East-a-La-Mesa, baby!
    Name:
    starts with an "M".....
    Boat:
    #1 boat scrubber - Team Madrugador
    • Messages:
      (9,865)
    • Likes Received:
      (3,078)
    well, don't do anything yet.....maybe I dont know WTF I am talking about. LOL

    just a quick search I came up with this diagram.....

    261manual_9s.jpg

    I guess if it works, then don't mess with it........ But if it were me, I'd ask some others here with more experience outfitting boats.

    I just looked at mine, and it's about 2 inches below waterline out the transom.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014
  13. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    Well I have the Google.com and pretty much everything I find says it should be above the waterline. I'm assuming it will help with drainage but I guess it could be a safety issue as well if that thru hull has a problem. I believe it is a 2" id or so hose. The tank works great. I think if I use bronze fittings it would make me feel better. I'm pretty good about double clamping everything and trying to make stuff vibration resistant but the plastic stuff just makes me nervous
     
  14. socaldieseltech

    socaldieseltech Well-Known "Member"

    Location:
    Santa Ana, CA
    Name:
    Clyde
    Boat:
    25' Wellcraft Coastal "No Reason"
    • Messages:
      (701)
    • Likes Received:
      (758)
    Haha when I first got the boat the tank wasn't draining. The 20130726_124815.jpg drain hose was damn near in a knot
     
  15. MikeyLikesIt

    MikeyLikesIt did you say F I S H I N G ???

    Location:
    East-a-La-Mesa, baby!
    Name:
    starts with an "M".....
    Boat:
    #1 boat scrubber - Team Madrugador
    • Messages:
      (9,865)
    • Likes Received:
      (3,078)
    Wow! Aren't boats fun?

    Glad to see that Wellcraft get some much deserved attention....good luck!
     
  16. phillyblunt

    phillyblunt Member

    Location:
    SD
    Name:
    Philip
    Boat:
    EVEN KEEL
    • Messages:
      (676)
    • Likes Received:
      (111)
    My boat is set up with a thru hull bait pick up, then across is the thru hull bait drain. And both of them are about 5' up from the transom. I think I have a 800gph pump on a 40 gal bait tank. Drains fine, 20kts, pump on full of bait. Hope this helps.
     
  17. bman440440

    bman440440 I am the one who knocks!!!

    Location:
    San Diego 92117
    Name:
    B-MAN
    Boat:
    Heisenberg(20' Maxum), Ship Show(30' double decker pontoon),Ships&Giggles(32' double decker pontoon)
    • Messages:
      (2,543)
    • Likes Received:
      (973)
    one question... is the drain a "hi speed" type that is faced aft? if it is then there will be no problems... under way it will actually cause suction, and if there is no drainage problems at rest you are good to go! I do however suggest that you go with brass and a sea-cock on it just for the safety factor
     
  18. scwafish

    scwafish Obsessed with fish

    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Name:
    Sean
    Boat:
    Radoncraft 18
    • Messages:
      (959)
    • Likes Received:
      (155)
    If it works just make is safer and ditch the plastic.
     
  19. gved823

    gved823 Member

    Location:
    Lakewood
    Name:
    Gary
    Boat:
    Sold
    • Messages:
      (479)
    • Likes Received:
      (230)
    Like the HDS mount, thinking of doing the same
     
  20. bman440440

    bman440440 I am the one who knocks!!!

    Location:
    San Diego 92117
    Name:
    B-MAN
    Boat:
    Heisenberg(20' Maxum), Ship Show(30' double decker pontoon),Ships&Giggles(32' double decker pontoon)
    • Messages:
      (2,543)
    • Likes Received:
      (973)

    how do you like this HDS 10 setup?

    IMG_7685.JPG
     

Share This Page