Waianae Mahi 4/28/12

Pupule

Feb 16, 2010
Ewa Beach
Name
Todd
Boat
22 ft Islander
Left Waianae Harbor at 0600 and motored straight to V-buoy. There wasn't much happening there so we headed toward the Dog Mouth (25 miles at 85 degrees). We ran into a small pile of black birds on the 1000 between V and CO. Took five strikes within a half hour. Dropped two mahi and caught three. Continued out to the Dog Mouth. Nobody was home, so we headed back in. Found another small pile of birds at 18 miles and 80 degrees, and caught two more mahi. Biggest was 21 pounds. We were happy with that so we headed back to the barn.

http://dsmanimal.com/uploads/3/0/8/1/3081960/6216547.jpg?434

shinchan

Making other fishermen look good....
Jul 10, 2008
Kaimuki
Name
Randy
Boat
13' Whaler "Shinchan"
Great catch and thanks for the detailed report. So being the newbie here I'm going to ask a stupid question: Dog mouth? :confused: Is that the shape of the mountains at that range or the bottom contour?

russell kato

"Kamoku"
Jul 24, 2009
Honolulu, HI
Name
russ
Boat
15' Arima - Kamoku
Left Waianae Harbor at 0600 and motored straight to V-buoy. There wasn't much happening there so we headed toward the Dog Mouth (25 miles at 85 degrees). We ran into a small pile of black birds on the 1000 between V and CO. Took five strikes within a half hour. Dropped two mahi and caught three. Continued out to the Dog Mouth. Nobody was home, so we headed back in. Found another small pile of birds at 18 miles and 80 degrees, and caught two more mahi. Biggest was 21 pounds. We were happy with that so we headed back to the barn.

http://dsmanimal.com/uploads/3/0/8/1/3081960/6216547.jpg?434
Pupule,
Congrats on a great catch of Mahis! Water must have been nice.

shinchan

Making other fishermen look good....
Jul 10, 2008
Kaimuki
Name
Randy
Boat
13' Whaler "Shinchan"