Bkusna15

Almost A Member
Dec 16, 2017
Hawaii
Name
Brendan Kahle
Boat
2012 Sea Fox 200xt
hey guys so I am new to trolling. Picked up a boat not too long ago and have the gear bit have yet to find any fish. Not looking for secret spots but any help would be great. I live near kaneohe but don't mind taking the boat around the island.

Do you have suggested depth to start? Keep seeing a lot about pinnacles on here but not sure where those are. If you would rather pm me I understand. Thanks in advance

Upvote 0

grander007

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 10, 2007
Honolulu
Name
zzzz
Boat
46, Bertram, Deep Blue
no magic to it

40 fathoms for Ono

100 fathoms or deeper for bigger fish

IMHO no magic to following the curves

Upvote 0

ACran1

Sep 4, 2017
Kaneohe
Name
Alex
Boat
23' AquaSport
I was in your same position a few years ago. I’ve certainly not mastered hawaiian waters, but I hold my own. Stick with running the ledge with ono lures, 4-7” skirts and maybe a Clarke spoon. I’ve had tons of luck trolling shallow. Once you get comfortable doing that, push out and try your luck at the FADs. Read reports on here and don’t be afraid to ask questions. Plenty of people have helped me find the fish. Use Windy.com for Wind/swell forecast and FishTrack.com for temp/current readings. Hit me up on DM if you’ve got any newbie questions

Upvote 0

shadzdad

Aug 6, 2010
Wahiawa,HI USA
Name
Darren
Boat
building one
Unless i get intel from other fishermen i just go out hunting. But more importantly, go out as often as is within your means. Gotta put that time on the water in order to have a shot at landing something. Unfortunately i been sitting on the couch for the past 3 weeks so you can guess my chances.

Upvote 0

blaskpa

FAMOUS GROUSE
Oct 1, 2010
Kailua/HI/USA
Name
Paul
Boat
FamousGrouse