trailering vs dry storage vs slip in SD

Discussion in 'Boating Discussion' started by cap_lr, Mar 16, 2008.

1. cap_lr

cap_lr Member

Name:
    Laurens
    Boat:
    SOLD!
    Hi Folks,

I'm new to PBing (and to San Diego) and am still weighing all my options before I drop a 'boat load' of dough a fishing boat in the next 3-6 months. Although I havn't found the boat I'm looking for yet - I do know that it will be a 25-28' pilot house like a Radon, Davis or Farallon.

Regardless of what boat finds me - it will be trailerable. However if I decide to trailer it, I will need to drop a couple Gs on a tow rig also. I live in Carmel Valley and would say that the vast majority of my trips will be out of Mission Bay and/or SD Bay (30mi roundtrip +/-). I'm pretty sure that my HOA rules prohibit boat's/RVs on the street so I'm looking at some alternatives and am looking for some real life input based on a)cost and b)ease of use.

So we're looking at three options:

1) trailering to and from a storage facility (need to buy tow rig + insurance + hassel)
    2) dry storage at a marina (if even avail in San Diego) &
    3) wet slip

I'm looking at using the rig as often as possible which, for me, might be 25-35 times/year. Time is definitely a premium for me but I'm also a frugal f*%# so I'm conflicted here. I would be extreemely grateful for any and all input here including estimates of annual dollar and hassel factor costs.

LR

2. Double Z

Double Z Newbie

Name:
    Harry S. Stamper
    Boat:
    Nope
    I really like my boat on a trailer but only pay $85 a month for storage near my house and have 24/7 access including free sewage (toy box) and wash area. It's only a mile or so away. I get to load at home directly to the boat. Yep, the $50k truck pays for a lot of slip fees, divers, and other related expenses. I can drop my boat in any launch ramp and get 14mpg getting there. Lakes too.