kuyamonster

I only wishes to catch some fishes...
May 14, 2009
San Diego/Tacoma USA
Name
Marcel
Boat
Limited load cattle car
I confess to the crime! Yes, another novice rod builder joining the ranks. Using Covid-19 as an opportunity and a blessing in disguise, I jumped into the hobby 6 months ago. (How the heck do I have four full boxes of components and over a dozen blanks sitting now?!?) 🤪 I'd always admired from up close and afar all of the downright custom wrapping talent here on BD over the last 15 years or so. Easy to see how addictive rod wrapping can be but it serves another purpose for me now. Although some of you have been more than gracious to donate rods to my annual summer charity charters in San Diego, I can now go a step further by custom wrapping rods myself to give away to single parent kids and our active or retired veterans. This is my first attempt at building multiple color themed rods. These 3 Thrasher sticks were built for a buddy, James in Montebello. He wanted to limit the amount of gear he hauled on trips but also a solid arsenal to tackle 90% of his angling needs in SoCal and offshore Mexico. (Couple more rods planned including a heavy CrowBar cow killer railrod). He was done with fishing big butt, heavy glass long rods and decided on composite blanks. Wrapped a TRF80M (15-40, bait/light jigs), a RAW 86 jigstick (30-60, bait/heavy jigs) and a TRFM76H (20-100, no typo on rating. Blank handles most anything you throw at it and then some!) 98% Alps/Forecast components other than the Fuji trigger reel seat and the thread/epoxy used. Basic rod construction, not perfect but all 3 ready to log some serious fish killing time. It's definitely challenging to learn through personal trial and error. Experiencing the pitfalls of correctly mixing epoxy, double/triple wrapping threads in size A, B, C and D combinations. The importance of static testing and guide spacing. Tricks to adhering grips, decals and reel seats. Using and forgetting to use color