Talica 16ii or 20ii with what rod

Discussion in 'San Diego Long Range fishing Reports' started by seabash, Dec 23, 2015.

1. seabash

seabash Member

Name:
    matias
    Boat:
    san diego
    Im looking into buying either a Talica 16ii or 20ii. Im very green to any long range teips but my intention is to use it more for the shorter long range trips like 5 days. I want one thats versatile but i dont want to be undergunned and i have no experience with either. I know they are similar but what the advice of those who have fished them. Also any suggestions on rods to put it on.

2. ripped

ripped I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Gary
    Boat:
    Vagabond
    In a typical year for 5 day trips you will be fishing with 40lb. the majority of the time. I think the 16 would fit the bill with 65 or 80lb, spectra backing leaving enough room for 100 yards of mono. You could bump up the line test in mono if needed. I presume your going to bait fish and for an ideal stick for bait with 40 or 50 lb. string Calstar's Grafighter 700MH is hard to beat. Funny, when I started ocean fishing my first purchase was to find a rod that did everything. I now have 25 sticks... Excessive yes but a good bait stick that casts a small bait won't put the hurt on a yellowtail if your yoyoing a 6Xjr. And a good yoyo stick like a GF 700XH will make it harder to cast a bait to the sweat spot. You will find all the info you need and then some on this site. I would suggest you take your time and pull on several rods to see what feels good in your hands.

3. seabash

seabash Member

Name:
    matias
    Boat:
    san diego
    Thanks i typically fish my new toriums 14 or 16 on phenix 809 and 909 rods which i love. I also just bought a trinidad 20a, but im looking for something that if need can pull on 100+ pounds and not break me. Bigger fish is the goal, and so that means longer range. Can either a talica 16ii or 20ii be of use on those 10-15 day trips