T Bird 1.5d - rod/reel and Tackle advice

Mar 17, 2020
Bay Area, CA
Name
Christopher Hand
Boat
Triton
So by some miracle the wife gave me the thumbs up to go on the I got a spot on the T Bird - Fishing syndicate Trip and buy a new rig. On the other hand my more experienced buddy wasn't so lucky, so ill be flying solo this trip. I'm still really new to the SD fishery and also these big bluefins. After getting addicted to socal fishing last year I was able to piece together some pretty good setups.

#30 - Phenix Abyss HD 15-40 w/ Avet MX G2 - 65lb
#40 Bait- Thrasher TR MF 76H w/ Avet MXJ Raptor - 65lb
#40-50 SInker - Phenix Axis 708xh w/ Tac 12 - 80lb
#60 Sinker/Flatfall? - Calstar 765ML w/ Tac 16 - 80lb

I'm thinking I should probably get a 80-100# setup as my next rig but I'm not sure if I should just go and use one of the boats big setups or try to get a rig together before the trip.

Also I only really have experience with bait for schoolie sized tuna, YT, and dorado. I haven't really had the chance to do any flatfall fishing or sinker fishing. I currently have some stock 150-200g flatfalls but was thinking I should probably buy some of the custom rigged bigger flatfalls. Does squidco or anglers choice have custom rigged FF's? Also if anyone can point me to some resources to on how to fish using the freefall that would be awesome. I appreciate any feedback or tips as this will be my first solo trip and still am pretty much a newbie. This forum and community are the best. TY

Upvote 0

SD714

• Jul 17, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    Name
    Steven Do
    Boat
    None