Surf perch fishing rod suggestions

Feb 26, 2021
Riverside
Name
Max Patron
Boat
I dont have one
Hello I need some help looking for a surf fishing rod and the species I'm targeting is surfperch but the thing is that I'm new to surf fishing, and the rod I'm thinking of buying is the Shakespeare Ugly Stik Elite Salmon/Steelhead Spinning Rod in a 9-foot medium-power but I'm not sure if I should get in 8'6 and also I already have a reel which is the Penn pursuit iii size 2500. And I'm gonna be surf fishing at Newport, CA.

Chan-

:)
May 12, 2020
Torrance
Name
Chan Suk
Boat
?
u should be fine with both a 9 foot and 8'6. personally i just go with some random setups that are like 7'6 and it works fine. if its just for surf perch then most of the light to medium outfits out there work fine as long as you can cast the lure/baits out.

Upvote 0
Feb 26, 2021
Riverside
Name
Max Patron
Boat
I dont have one
u should be fine with both a 9 foot and 8'6. personally i just go with some random setups that are like 7'6 and it works fine. if its just for surf perch then most of the light to medium outfits out there work fine as long as you can cast the lure/baits out.
Thank you, I was just wondering what rod length I should get because in every article I read people say I recommend 11 foot rod, 9 foot rod or a 8 foot rod and gets very confusing

Upvote 0

Chan-

May 12, 2020
Torrance
Name
Chan Suk
Boat
?
Thank you, I was just wondering what rod length I should get because in every article I read people say I recommend 11 foot rod, 9 foot rod or a 8 foot rod and gets very confusing
i doubt they are targeting surf perch. they are probably targeting bigger species hence needing the farther casting distance. surf perch arent all that far out. I've found i usually get the most bites on incoming tide at sandbars around the area right before the waves break. just search up how to find the perch since i think its more important

Upvote 0
Feb 26, 2021
Riverside
Name
Max Patron
Boat