Dexter Outdoors
Apr 2, 2021
Eureka
Name
Aaron Walker
Boat
Lavro
Hello Everyone,

I am new to bloody decks, I live in Humboldt County where I mainly target salmon and steelhead. I also do a little halibut and rockfish fishing as well. I really want to do a multi day trip out of San Diego, targeting bluefin, yellowfin, dorado, and yellowtail. I have no idea where to start on selecting equipment, and I understand there is rental gear, but I really want to have my own stuff.

So my question is what would you pick for 3 starter combos for anything up to a 5 day trip? I want 3 rod and reel combos that can be versatile for multiple situations and price isn't an issue.

Picture of my dog Loomis and a steelhead.

Thanks and tight lines!

Screen Shot 2021-04-02 at 4.46.26 PM.png

Reactions: FlatPack and anemic

CooldadE

Mar 28, 2010
Antioch,Ca
Name
Ed
Boat
13'4" Gregor
Hello Everyone,

I am new to bloody decks, I live in Humboldt County where I mainly target salmon and steelhead. I also do a little halibut and rockfish fishing as well. I really want to do a multi day trip out of San Diego, targeting bluefin, yellowfin, dorado, and yellowtail. I have no idea where to start on selecting equipment, and I understand there is rental gear, but I really want to have my own stuff.

So my question is what would you pick for 3 starter combos for anything up to a 5 day trip? I want 3 rod and reel combos that can be versatile for multiple situations and price isn't an issue.

Thanks and tight lines!

View attachment 1268852
In the Fishing gear section under Penn University, Tuna north lists 5 rigs... don’t leave the dock without. Good place to start. Also I believe there is an informative vid with him on tackle talk Thursday. On the searcher website...

Cool

malanx

Royal Star 200# Club
Sep 28, 2011
Mountain View
Name
Jonny
Boat
SD landings
Such a great looking dog and fish!

You're asking the blond, brunette or redhead question...

The two setups that I use for most situations are: