Common Sense Isn't Common Enough
Jun 20, 2015
San Fernando Valley
Name
Brad I
Boat
Nope
Thanks Gary, certainly informative.

I've been brazing rings for about 12-15 years and have picked up a couple of things through trial and error that in addition to Gary's real helpful video might make things easier for those just starting out. In no particular order:

There are some duck billed pliers with cross hatching on gripping inside--those do give better gripping, but they can leave indentations on the ring--fine for the hook end, but not ideal for the mono end because they can scratch the mono.

I bought my torch and butane at Home Depot and solder and flux at a local welding supply house. Be sure to get the 56 silver solder as Gary says. I like to get solder as thin as possible for soldering rings onto hooks.

When replacing hooks, as much as possible try to match the size of the replacement hook to the original to maintain the original swimming motion of the jig.

I'll sometimes change out a cheaper stock treble hook on a surface iron for the real sharp and strong Owner trebles, When I do that, I save the hook and use it for heavy jigs so that if I get the jig caught on the bottom, there's a better chance of being able to bend the hook and retrieve the jig rather than losing the the whole thing.

When putting on a single hook, be sure to align it so that the hook is facing the same side as the original (typically the pointy end is on the flat side of the jig).

Make sure that the right size ring is used; it should swing freely both in the hole of the jig and easily clear the outside end of the jig, but no need to make it bigger than that.

Notice that Gary has a towel on the table. Smart idea--it not only protects the table from scratching, but also prevents rings, etc. from bouncing away.

If doing a lot of ringing, I like to do it outside or in a room with plenty of ventilation.