URN

Almost A Member
  • Feb 20, 2018
    Anchorage
    Name
    URN
    Boat
    Whaler 25
    Went out with the wife and kids and got into the black sea bass and one halibut. Very nice day and had following seas heading out of the bay. Smoothed out later on and had a great ride in at about 35mph.

BE73B100-3E3F-4E5C-A154-0F41415EE615.jpeg

Upvote 0

URN

Almost A Member
  • Feb 20, 2018
    Anchorage
    Name
    URN
    Boat
    Whaler 25
    Solid haul there.
    Thanks,
    I'm still learning the area and found that outside of Resurrection Bay produces better than inside the bay. It took three moves to find the school of rockfish but after we found the school it was limits in a few minutes.

Upvote 0

chilidip

• Jul 26, 2006
    North OC
    Name
    David
    Boat
    17' Logic CC
    Very nice! The one time I was up there, we took a look just outside the bay and the captain turned the boat around right at the mouth since it was so choppy.

Is the ocean salmon run done for the year?

Upvote 0

URN

Almost A Member
  • Feb 20, 2018
    Anchorage
    Name
    URN
    Boat
    Whaler 25
    Very nice! The one time I was up there, we took a look just outside the bay and the captain turned the boat around right at the mouth since it was so choppy.

Is the ocean salmon run done for the year?

Silver run is basically done. A few guys trying to snag from shore at the culvert in Seward. Some feeder kings have been caught but they're hard to target. Lots of bait in the water and some halibut still around. Pretty much have to be outside the bay in 350'+ of water. It's getting the time of year where the weather changes quick and hopefully I'll be able to get on some deer near Montague. I'd like to fish for winter kings while cruising the shoreline looking for deer to shoot. Ultimate surf and turf.

Upvote 0

chilidip

• Jul 26, 2006
    North OC
    Name
    David
    Boat
    17' Logic CC