Rod suggestion for SXJ Raptor

AZLEO

Aug 9, 2016
Phoenix, AZ
Name
Lee
Boat
None
Hello BD. I've been a lurker for a couple months, finally registered and looking for some advice.

I'm looking for a rod for a SXJ Raptor w/ 50# braid and 30-40# fluro for party boat fishing out of San Diego/LA. This would be for live bait and casting ~3-6oz jigs like surface irons or coltsnipers.

I'm new to saltwater this year but already addicted. I live in Phoenix so my boat trips are limited to maybe 10 a year. So far I've been taking 3/4 - 1.5 day trips fishing for big YT, calico, etc and eventually maybe YFT small BFT... someday.

So my dilemma is I don't know intimate details about rods. I understand the power, action, line rating, lure rating.... the obvious numbers to a basic fisherman I guess. But those can be matched to a $60 uglystik or a $400 Calstar. I don't know anything about the reel seat fitting, the overall weight of the rod, or info I could probably find walking into a tackle shop... if we had any saltwater tackle shops within 300 miles of central AZ :D

I don't want to spend a ton on a rod right now considering my very limited use and the money I already put into the reel and another Penn 40 setup. I'll probably pick up a nice Calstar or Phenix after Christmas but I need something that will get me through a few more trips this year without blowing hundreds but without buying a cheap brick of a rod that will wear me out and maybe even snap on a 40#+ pissed off fish.

So from a land locked newbie, thank you in advance for any advice that'll let me fish this reel successfully a few times this year.

jim-m

Jim
Jan 7, 2010
Cypress,ca
Name
Jim
Boat
Bayliner Element F21
Hello BD. I've been a lurker for a couple months, finally registered and looking for some advice.

I'm looking for a rod for a SXJ Raptor w/ 50# braid and 30-40# fluro for party boat fishing out of San Diego/LA. This would be for live bait and casting ~3-6oz jigs like surface irons or coltsnipers.