I've posted enough I should edit this section
Aug 3, 2018
San Diego
Name
Brandon
Boat
Robalo
Hey guys,
quick question and I apologize if this is a dumb one - I am new to the boat ownership. The screws on my rod holders under the gunnel rusted out and broke. So I have the distal tip of the screw stuck in the boat, and the screw head broken into the rod holder. I am replacing the holders, however, before doing so, was curious how to handle the screw tip that is broken off in the side of the boat? Id prefer to fish it out before slapping on another rod holder over it. Do I need to drill this out? If so, what do I fill the drilled hole with? Pics coming..and thank you for all advice!

IMG_4756.JPG

Reactions: Geo-Fish

Capt.C.Delany

The only fishing I do is trolling the Internet
Jun 22, 2014
No Grave But the Sea
Name
Hugh Jassole / The Porcelain Punisher
Boat
Paddy Wagon 24' Skippy
Not sure if this will work on something that rusted but maybe try a speed out. (you may have to drill a tiny pilot hole into the top of the exposed screw)

Then you have two options, fill the hole with some epoxy resin with filler (West Marine sells a small "fiberglass repair kit" and it is very easy to use), or you could get something like MarineTex which is a epoxy putty, this is also very easy to use. (I would use one of these two methods)

The second option would be fill it with 4200/5200 if the hole does not go all the way through to the outboard side of the boat, in which case epoxy would be a must.

With both these options I would remove the screw. It may take just using a SMALL well controlled drill bit to get it out piece by piece. Maybe a dremmel?

Either way, don't despair slowly but surely you will get it. Be patient.

Oh and welcome to joys of boat ownership.

Bhoff

Aug 3, 2018
San Diego
Name
Brandon
Boat
Robalo