Rod and Reel for 3/4 Boat Trips

Discussion in 'Fishing Chit Chat' started by ColdEye, Jan 17, 2019.

1. ColdEye

ColdEye Newbie

Name:
    Ranie
    Boat:
    Paper
    what is a decent rod and reel for day trips here in San Diego? I am pretty new to fishing and currently all I have is some UL trout gear. I am planning to take one of the 3/4 day trips to see how it is. My budget is around $300-$400. I don't have any problems buying used. Is the daiwa BG 6500 a good option? I am fine with either a spinner or baitcaster. I do have an old Penn 309 and daiwa sl50sh that was given to me, can I use either of those? As for the rods I am completely clueless on what o get. Thank you.

2. dctalk523

dctalk523 I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    ChoeMan
    Boat:
    Never
    Lots of gear up for sale on the classified board.

3. InDeepShip

InDeepShip Ah ship

Name:
    Adam
    Boat:
    In my Dream's
    A seeker/calstar/cousins 6480 and a Penn 25nLD or star drag

4. SouthBayKiller

SouthBayKiller I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Robert
    Boat:
    none
    2 rods will have you covered 99% of the time:

25lb bait rod
    40lb bait rod that can also be used with yoyo jigs.

Highwayman, Efishient and jer dog like this.
  5. RideHPD

RideHPD Enthusiastic Idiot Rookie

Name:
    Eric Marin
    Boat:
    10' Model T
    My advice would to be to get something fish live bait on 25lb test. That's what you'll use 90% of the time, and having a setup that does that job very well will help adjust and learn faster.