Rockfishing Question

Discussion in 'Fishing Chit Chat' started by Eman1001, Apr 5, 2018.

1. Eman1001

Eman1001 Newbie

Name:
    Ethan
    Boat:
    Not yet...
    Hi there! I'm pretty new to rockfishing and have a couple questions. I'm going out on the Speed Twin *CISCOS* in the next couple of days. First off, I would really love to bag some larger fish, at the sacrifice of possible limits, and heard that using an Ahi Jig + dropper loop w/ plastic or squid works well. Is this too ambitious for a googan like me :p? Like I said, I'm a total noob when it comes to boat etiquette and don't wanna come off as cocky (any tips on boat etiquette would be appreciated!). Also, I read online that you can use Tadys to jig for rockfish and lings. This true? If so what size?

2. InDeepShip

InDeepShip Ah ship

Name:
    Adam
    Boat:
    In my Dream's
    Don't worry about jigs if this is your first time just go with bait it works great. Do you have your own rig or will you be renting. I do alot of fishing out of Cisco's and if you ask the crew for help they will definitely. Just remeber when leaving the boat to tip the crew well. For the boat stuff just if you see someone fishing one spot and they start catching fish don't move closer to them or try to get there spot when they go get bait or what ever. Just don't be a jack ass and you will fit in just fine. Also galley food is the best in the morning.

3. Brad I

Brad I Common Sense Isn't Common Enough

Name:
    Brad I
    Boat:
    Nope
    If you're goal is to catch bigger fish, try an overnight boat after the Speed Twin. The overnight boats get to places that receive less fishing pressure than the half day boats.