Rigging Advice

Discussion in 'Fishing Chit Chat' started by Joseph Hough, Jun 21, 2018.

1. Joseph Hough

Joseph Hough Newbie

Name:
    Michael
    Boat:
    TBird
    So I'm new here and if this isn't the right place for this discussion please let me know.
    I'll be traveling to Cali July 11 and taking an overnight trip going out for yellowtail out of the LA area (the Thunderbird). My question is what is the best all around rod and reel (line) set up? I've been looking around and my biggest issue the rod. I'd like to go as light as possible. I have an Ambassador 10000but was thinking that would be too much. Also what type and pound test line should I use along with any other advice wouldbe helpful.

2. BASSMITH

BASSMITH Member

Name:
    james
    Boat:
    18ft basstracker "the other woman"
    You can rent what you need at the landing

3. MAG0121

MAG0121 Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Marco Gonzalez
    Boat:
    Nah
    Plenty of yellows are caught on lighter bass gear, but you run the risk of getting wrecked by a larger model or by the sea lions who will have a lot more chance to pick you off as you finesse the fish on lighter line.

The reel is not too much, but for my light yellowtail value setup, I a Daiwa Proteus, 8ft, MHF (15-30lb rated) with one of the new Daiwa Saltist 15H reels, spooled with 50lb braid and a 20yd topshot of 25lb mono. On top of that I'll run 15-30lb flouro leader depending on what's biting.

mackereljoe likes this.
  4. InDeepShip

InDeepShip Ah ship

Name:
    Adam
    Boat:
    In my Dream's
    I’d go with a avet mxl sizes reel with 65 lb braid

5. DPevin

DPevin Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Evin
    Boat:
    kayak
    any 30# setup to fish live bait.

6. MRC70

MRC70 Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    MRC
    Boat:
    not yet
    You didn't give a budget, but for a good cheaper solution: