Black-is-Back

Wishin i was Fishin
Jun 21, 2009
So Cal
Name
Hey you
Boat
245 Fisherman open “Bloody Anarchy”
Can some one tell what type of resin/brand is used in making marlin lures?

I'm not looking to make marlin lures but need a crystal clear, UV stable resin.

I have lots of fiberglass experience from rebuilding the boat, but all of the resins I used were not UV rated and had a yellowish tint to them when dried.

Upvote 0

Black-is-Back

Wishin i was Fishin
Jun 21, 2009
So Cal
Name
Hey you
Boat
UV stable epoxy would be my choice.

Thanks Tanner.

I have used the mucho bucks west systems epoxy on the boat build but even the west systems had a yellow tint when poured in any substantial thickness.

I will be using the resin to play around with fishing lures, just not marlin lures.

I notice that a lot of the marlin lures are crystal clear, almost like glass.

That's what I'm looking for.

Upvote 0

tanner.s

Fish Slaughterer
Oct 18, 2012
San Diego
Name
Tanner
Boat
1997 Proline 23 W/A
Thanks Tanner.

I have used the mucho bucks west systems epoxy on the boat build but even the west systems had a yellow tint when poured in any substantial thickness.

I will be using the resin to play around with fishing lures, just not marlin lures.

I notice that a lot of the marlin lures are crystal clear, almost like glass.

That's what I'm looking for.
Could use Alumilite but I think you have to cure it in a vacuum chamber to avoid bubbles. Check it out, it is supposed to be UV stable and crystal clear.

Upvote 0

LEGENDS

Yogi Bear
May 7, 2011
Lakeside
Name
Sam
Boat
None
Check out solarez, they make all kinds of epoxys and they have a uv curing epoxy. They're in north county sd.

Upvote 0

Black-is-Back

Wishin i was Fishin
Jun 21, 2009
So Cal
Name
Hey you
Boat
Check out solarez, they make all kinds of epoxys and they have a uv curing epoxy. They're in north county sd.

Thank you Sam.

I just checked out Solarez and they do make a clear casting resin.