Reel for 3/4 to 1.5 day trips?

Discussion in 'Fishing Chit Chat' started by ysr_racer, May 7, 2016.

1. ysr_racer

ysr_racer Member

Name:
    Brad G
    Boat:
    none
    I'm new to ocean fishing, and need to start somewhere. I did three day trip on the Excel, and had fun (except for puking like a scene from The Exorcist).

I was looking at the Daiwa Black Gold Saltist as a first reel. What do you guys think?

30 or 40 size for 3/4 to 1.5 day trips?

2. MJB

MJB I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Mark
    Boat:
    sold it!!
    20-30 would be my choice for a first reel. Something small that you can cast all day long kinda like the rig you want for fishing the slide

You want 2-3 setups 20 30 40

3. MattM

MattM Pescador

Name:
    Matt M
    Boat:
    TBD
    I'd strongly recommend a Penn Fathom 25N as by far the best bang-for-the buck general purpose reel for somebody looking for a first reel or two. They're versatile with great free spool, will stand up to the size fish you'll catch on those trips, and in the same price ballpark as what you're currently thinking about.

4. svt

svt Newbie

Name:
    john
    Boat:
    none
    Whats your buget?

5. OneDay

OneDay Member

Name:
    Ed Hayden
    Boat:
    Pro-line 22 Walk
    I agree with the Penn
    Fathom 25N but would specify the star drag rather than lever drag as first reel. You can set up with 300 yards of 50lb spectra and have a good 100 yard topshot of mono. You could fish mono 20, 30 or 40. Very versatile rig

MattM likes this.
  6. medicidela

medicidela Member

Name:
    Medy
    Boat:
    Party Boats
    In addition to the sizes 30 and 40, the Daiwa BG comes in size 35 too. The 35 is compact, but has enough capacity to hold a good amount of 40 or 50 lb braid. Then you can vary the top shot as needed (20-40 lb). The Daiwa BG would be a good choice as a starting reel because of its price.