AquaHunter

Hardcore Deaf Fisherman
Jul 3, 2007
San Diego soon to be in Texas
Name
Ray Ayus Jr
Boat
20’ Grady White Overnighter
I'm thinking of going on this trip sponsored by Charkbait for a 8 day trip. It's my first time going on this trip beside many 1.5-3 days trips. I'm wondering how this work with fuel surcharges, fish processing, tips to crews, bunk preferences, advices, sabiki rigs, and anything I should be expecting/need to know. Since I'm deaf and the seminars might not work well with me due to communication issues, I would like to know from you veterans. What should I be expecting on this trip? Any one of you going?

Freshone21

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Oct 4, 2008
Huntington Beach
Name
Tom
Boat
Ranger Z521
Hey Ray

(Fuel surcharges) - Each boat usually has their own policy and fuel surcharges obviously change with the fluctuation of gas prices. For example on my 15 day there was a 15$ fuel surcharge just this pass January. "275"$

(Fish Processing) - Mario's, Fishermans processing, Five Star are the usual go to processors. Each one is unique in their own way and Each BD'er has their own personal preference. I would visit their websites and find what fits you best. Each offer portion size, smoked, jerky, shipping.. for fixed pricing.

(What to expect) -This is an interesting time..You could be gunning for the lower banks fishing big cows, stones for 100lb yft and yellows. Fishing the ridge for wahoo.. Or hell all of the above.

(Tips) - This subject has been beat to death and im sure you could find an old thread on it. The saying is 15% of trip cost. More or less is up to you.

(What to Expect) - Sun,Laughs,New Friends,Experience. And if your lucky a couple of fish!

good luck.

Phil

Well-Known "Member"
Sep 5, 2006
Mississippi
Name
Phil
Boat
n/a
Ray,