Rainshadow for LBSF

Jul 15, 2014
Name
Shannon Hughes
Boat
Tarpon 120
Was hoping to see what blanks guys are using for medium sharks (5-9 feet) from shore. Was looking at the Rainshadow RCJB and RCTB as possible candidates. From previous posts I read that the RCTB takes a good amount of drag (25+) to bend. There are two applications I am shooting for:
1) a casting blank to be able to cast 5oz and a chunk/head...was thinking fishing 40-50lb on this one going after the 4-6 footers
2) a blank where we kayak out the bait 150 yards and fish 80lb line.

Had someone recommend the RCTB70XXH, but wondering if the drag we are going to be using is too small at 20lbs. My son and I have been catching 3-5ft sharks on surf gear for a couple years using 20-25lb mono so at most we were using 10lbs of drag. I know guys fish 30lb+ of drag but just have a feeling I would end up in the drink if I tried that. My son might be able to handle it.

Jul 15, 2014
Name
Shannon Hughes
Boat
Tarpon 120
Did some more reading/searching/talking and starting to converge on following:

RCTB70XXH 150lb+ fish, fish with at least 80lb line, 25lbs+ drag
RCJB84XXH 100-150lb fish, fish with 60lb line, 20lb drag
RCJB84XH 60-100lb fish, fish with 40-50lb line, 12-15lb drag

Jul 15, 2014
Name
Shannon Hughes
Boat
Tarpon 120
Thanks Hector for the images...helps out when can't hold or bend a blank. I was thinking of running 50/60 (15-20lbs drag) mono top shot leaning towards a Avet HX or 30/2. Looking at Charkbait site they seem to recommend targeting towards the lower end of the rod rating scale for the RCJB's which would put me between the XH and XXH. Might have to flip coin but leaning towards the XH to make catching the smaller sharks/bull reds more fun.

Jul 15, 2014
Name
Shannon Hughes
Boat
Tarpon 120
Built out both rcjb84h and rcjb84xh. Used fathom single lever 30 and 40 respectively with 40/60lb top shots. Here is pic of 6 footer.
E740582E-FE90-4600-80B3-EC60F4409CC6.jpeg

Reactions: Hector Garcia