Quick questions...Wrapping OVER existing rod wrapping? & Re-attaching top guide?

The American Tackle Company

sundaytrucka

Fish or Die
Sep 8, 2013
Orange County
Name
Scott
Boat
I wish...as in, I wish I had a boat.
I have an off the rack AllStar graphite rod, 30-50# rating, the guides and wrapping are fine enough, but it is only single wrapped. I wanted to add another layer of wrapping to add strength (and a color change), as well as allow me to practice rod wrapping, I am a newbie, on an inexpensive rod that I do not mind messing up on during the learning process. My question is...

Can I wrap over the existing wrapping straight away, or must I prepare the "clear coat" in some way to allow the epoxy to set and adhere to the existing wrap properly?

2ND Question...

The epoxy on the top guide of one of my rods weakened and cracked, releasing its strength on the top guide and allowing it to move and wiggle. I can now easily pool the top guide off.

Should I use some epoxy to simply "glue" the top guide back on, or should I remove some of the cracked epoxy, prepare the top wrapping and re-seal the guide back on?

I am new to rod wrapping, so thank you for any help and input. -Scott

timmyd3853

I Post A Lot But I Can't Edit This
Sep 27, 2011
Temecula, Ca.
Name
Tim
Boat
Excel, Polaris Supreme, Searcher, RRIII and YOURS!
you can just wrap over all your guides without prep and should be ok. without seeing the extent of the damaged finish on the top guide i couldnt answer if you could just wrap over and re-epoxy or if you need to take it off and start over on it. if you use and NCP (no color preserver ) thread you wont have to worry about using that prior to using you finish on the second wrap.

Good Wraps Bob

Balcombe Rods
Apr 13, 2008
Elma/WA/USA
Name
Bob Balcombe
Boat
NO BOAT