Quick change mono topshot question

Discussion in 'Fishing Tips' started by Tromak, Mar 17, 2019.

1. Tromak

Tromak Newbie

Name:
    Tyler
    Boat:
    Charter
    Hi, I was wondering if anyone has a system for changing their mono topshots regularly? I am trying to reduce the number of rods on my boat. I want to use my salmon trolling rods to fish for rockfish. My plan is to have a 20 to 30 foot Topshot of mono while trolling with the downriggers, and then remove the topshot and run a double shrimp fly rig for the rockfish. I want to have the mono for shock absorbing purposes while I'm salmon fishing and straight braid to reduce the amount of flagging i get when dropping down for rockfish. I want low waste on the mono and low profile all around so nothing is catching anywhere. Any ideas? I'm thinking FG is the best option, but I feel like I'm missing something since i am new to topshot game.

2. InDeepShip

InDeepShip Ah ship

Name:
    Adam
    Boat:
    In my Dream's
    Look at loop to loop connections. Wind on leaders and what not

3. Derby

Derby My "Member" is Well Known.

Name:
    The Kid
    Boat:
    Aquasport 222 FFV
    Rockfish with the 20-30' of mono. It's not that much. Still less stretch then 2-300' all mono.

QueenAnnesRevenge likes this.
  4. Tromak

Tromak Newbie

Name:
    Tyler
    Boat:
    Charter