Almost A Member
Oct 9, 2018
Anaheim
Name
Justin
Boat
awifeinstead
Hi guys,

I'm new to the Olympia area and have been getting skunked on the Westport Jetty.

If anyone has any information to share on any shore fishing near Olympia, it would be much appreciated. I'm just looking for some bottom dwellers to fill the freezer.

Reactions: jiggermyster

eldplanko

got the skunk off
Jun 18, 2012
Ballard
Name
My other boat is a piece of...
Boat
Floater
I hear sculpin holds up real well if you can get it to seal without the spines puncturing the bag.

Upvote 0

Salmon King

I Should Upgrade My Account
Mar 29, 2013
Everett, WA, USA
Name
Tim
Boat
Salmon King 21' Custom Pilothouse
I don’t think you will catch much let alone fill a freezer from shore. Shoot, you can’t fill a freezer from a boat in the puget sound. Here is my advice... have fun fishing for stuff from shore... whidbey beaches will put out pink salmon in a few months. And then buy a seat on a six pack tuna charter this summer. Freezer will be filled with non wormy meat.

If you want table fare from shore, find a dock or access onto lake Washington and fish perch. I grew up on fried Great Lakes perch. It is really good IMO.

Upvote 0

Baby J

Grady prick in training
  • Jul 28, 2017
    Graham, WA
    Name
    Jeremy
    Boat
    Grady White 265 Express Walkaround
    Other than surf perch at the beaches, opportunities are very limited. You would be so much better off getting a little boat or a kayak. Anything to get you deeper water. Shore fishing is like trying to pick up chicks in a Chevy. It feels like you have a chance but everyone around knows you're just wasting your time,

Upvote 0

JTC

Too Sirius
  • Aug 13, 2012
    Redmond Wa
    Name
    Jeff
    Boat
    24' North River O/S. SIRIUS FISHIN