Puget Sound Conditions Forecasting

Osprey12

Sep 1, 2018
Tacoma
Name
None
Boat
None
Hi Everyone, I'm new to fishing the puget sound and wanted to start doing so this summer but had a question on how to do it safely since I'm new to it. I'll be in a 18' nw style aluminum boat and wasn't sure how to determine when is a good day to go out and when is it best to stay home. I'll be fishing the narrows area and I've been over the narrows bridge before and seen white caps, and also been over it and seen it look like glass. My question is, what causes the change in the waves out there? Is it just wind? Is it tide change? Is it both? Is it something else completely? I have seen people say to check the forecast before going out but what should I be checking? For example, if I were to go out this Friday it looks like low wind conditions, does this guarantee that the waves won't be crazy or do I need to look at something other than the wind? Just trying to stay safe out there and try going out a few times before I take the kids out, thanks for the help!

Randy G
Randy G
Tomorrow we have one of the lowest tide of the year -4.2. The narrows in some places almost turns into white water conditions. Just saying be careful because the water really rips through there on extreme tide exchanges.
Upvote 0
Upvote 0

thesaltyhooker

Almost A Member
Oct 25, 2018
Renton
Name
Anders
Boat
North River Seahawk
download a few of the weather apps, when you're out there, check them and compare it to what you're seeing on the water. that will also help you figure out what you;re comfortable with.
but yes, wind, currents, tides etc all play a role in the conditions. in areas like the narrows where when there's a big tidal exchange (like this weekend) there will be some strong rips, couple that with wind and you may or may not enjoy certain areas.
stay safe and have fun.

Upvote 0

Salmon King

I Should Upgrade My Account
Mar 29, 2013
Everett, WA, USA
Name
Tim
Boat
Salmon King 21' Custom Pilothouse