Props to the Bug Boys 12.9.17

Discussion in 'Southern California Inshore & Islands Fish Reports' started by the SLIDER, Dec 9, 2017.

1. the SLIDER

the SLIDER https://multimediabylj.com

Name:
    L J
    Boat:
    arima - the SLIDER
    Hi Gang,

Went out of D P after a few weeks way. Got rid of my Bronco and got an Audi. Had to rig a hitch and harness for my Toyota pick up. All went smooth, the PU is easier to maneuver than the Bronco.

Skiff ran at high speed well but hiccuped and stalled at idol. Stayed near harbor. Seems there's a never ending "things to do list".

I have been fishing out of DP on the SLIDER for over 30 years. All my really good spots are ones that I investigated when seeing lobster buoys. Most don't pan out, however I mark the ones with structure to be visited later in spring/summer months. If not for the commercial guys I'd have about half the spots I do. I'm sure all the spots these guys know have been passed down for generations. "Cheers to the Bug Boys".

:cheers:

Today:
    Spotted a buoy straight off the harbor. Nice patch of rock and grass with a whole ecosystem surrounding. There was a slow drift from N to S in 14 F of water, 61 degrees. It was wide open "Turd Wranglers", amazing. Started winding them in slow (boring) cause the first couple had their bladders out the mouth, lol. Caught about 25 in 2 hours. Kept 3 mediums for tacos. Approximately 5 were not legal, all were hungry and super easy to catch. Mixed in was 3 Fatties, 2 inches shy. Super fun catching Flatties on artificials, a real cat and mouse game.

Great day on the water.

IMG_0561.JPG

2. longboard85

longboard85 I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    cody
    Boat:
    17 ft invader cc (Somethings Fishy)
    Nice job!

the SLIDER likes this.
  3. DrBob89

DrBob89 Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Bob Nigbor
    Boat:
    Freedom Boat Club