Woodhunter

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Jun 12, 2011
Port Angeles, WA
Name
Big John
Boat
Classic MAKO 22
Things were different back then. Almost no downriggers. Jigs were scarce. Knuckle busters like the Pakrons were common, with wire line.

And the Moochers. An 'ol Florida boy like me had no clue. Tried dragging herring along Ediz Hook with no success for 2 years.

So I studied the old guys that caught fish, tried to see what was going on, without finding out much.

Then one of the guys started feeding me little tips, one at a time, over a period of several months. Finally caught a fish on a cut plug!!!

I love Mooching to this day. Not an expert but I have found a few things over the years that put fish in the boat.

Today I am spooling new line and servicing some of the 109 Penns. As I stumble across interesting (to me) items in the shop or boat I will take a photo and post.

The Penn 109: A simple reel, the handle does not disengage from the spool when in "free spool". Actually the anti reverse dog is disengaged. This allows the handle to be turned backwards to feed line to a nibbling Chinook. This IMHO is the singularly most important thing in successful Mooching: Being able to feed the bait to a Chinook that has taken a nip on the herring.

This reel was purchased new in about 1978 at Swains in Port Angeles.

Two things to note in the disassembled photo: The clicker has been removed and the hole has been sealed with epoxy. And the tiny 109 handle has been replaced with the larger 209 handle.

Back together. Note there is no reel stand.