Penn Fathom 15 for Surface Iron

OZZIE312

Jun 10, 2019
Oak Park, CA
Name
BILL O
Boat
SS MINOW
Hi I originally posed this question in the jigging section and did not get much input.

I am new to surface irons. I have been practicing on land throwing a 15SD with a CalStar 700L. I have gotten more comfortable and ready to graduate to an 8ft rod. I have been throwing my 25NSD and 15SD and I am still far more comfortable with the 15. Both reels are backed with 50lb spectra. Other than line capacity is there any reason not to throw irons with a 15SD? The line capacity on a 15 is similar to the capacity of baitcasters some people use for throwing iron, so I am a bit perplexed. Any information is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Reactions: Chucker o’ Jigs

tunanorth

I Post A Lot But I Can't Edit This
Dec 4, 2005
By the lake
Name
Tunanorth
Boat
Bass Tracker 16
Mechanically it can certainly handle it.
The primary issue will be retrieve rate.
Assuming you have the "Gen1" star drags.
15SD= 28 inches per turn
25NSD= 40 inches per turn
Since the classic Jigmaster 500 was only 25 Inches Per Turn, the classic surface irons like Tady 45's will work fine.
One other issue is that if you are throwing a long mono topshot, 40-pound mono can be very "wiry" on the small spool of the15.
Not that much of an issue if your long topshot is 30-pound mono, or if you are throwing straight braid with a short leader.
Speeds are slightly different if you have "Gen2" star drags.

OZZIE312

Jun 10, 2019
Oak Park, CA
Name
BILL O
Boat
SS MINOW
Thanks. I do have a gen 1 star drag. I am tying to learn to cast with straight braid and a short leader. So this is good info. I think I need to get over the line capacity hang up.

Reactions: MAG0121

Pitchinwedge

• Aug 7, 2016
    So Cal
    Name
    Sammie
    Boat
    None