Pacific Queen 7/13-7/15 Trip

Discussion in 'San Diego Long Range fishing Reports' started by bohuntr, Jul 18, 2018.

1. bohuntr

bohuntr Newbie

Name:
    Bill Tittle
    Boat:
    None
    To start out with I am new to this bluefin/yellowfin tuna fishing. I have fished freshwater extensively throughout my life but, just getting into this saltwater fishing. Three years ago I moved to San Jose, CA from Atlanta GA. I have done some salmon fishing on the charters out of Berkley.

I will tell you I am hooked on this Tuna fishing! I read many of your posts on the appropriate gear, tackle, modifying flat-falls, etc. I want to say thank you to all who provided input on my gear selections. I bought five different 2 speed Shimano reels from the Talica 16's to the Talica 20's. I paired the reels up with the appropriate Calstar rods per the member suggestions on this forum. I even brazed solid rings added single hooks with trailers and crimped 150 lb leader on shimano flat falls.

Again thank you for all the input.

The story to follow was absolutely unbelievable.

On Friday 7/13 evening we left the dock and headed out on the Pacific Queen. Captain Gavin said fishing has been slow with some good sized bluefin's being caught. Saturday throughout the day we "runned and gunned" chasing boiling schools of 10-30 lb bluefins. 8 out of the 30 fisherman caught small bluefins. It took a couple hours for me to get the feel of flylining but I soon picked it up and gained confidence. I was using my 40lb and 60 lb outfits off and on. We had to go down to 25lb flouro leader with #2 hooks to get the few fish that were caught. The boat was running a kite with a yummy flyer and we caught 3 jumbo bluefins with two over 140lbs and one over 200lbs. We ate dinner that evening and headed towards San Clemente.