kevfin

Jun 10, 2014
Name
Kevin Le
Boat
None
Hi All,

Newbie here... so please bear with me

From the Los Angeles area. I went on my first sports fishing event last weeking (LA Harbor to Catalina, on the Gail Force). Was a bit seasick at the start but got through it and was able to catch two mackerels. I was really hoping for some Yellowtails or WSB. I hear San Diego is the spot to be for some Yellowtail and Tuna.

Could anyone recommend a boat that does a overnight trip? I don't think my sea legs are ready for anything longer than that. So far it looks like the New Lo An is a possibility but I don't see many fishing reports for that particular boat....

Also I am using a Shimano Talavera TES70MH Rod with Baitrunner 8000OC, will that be sufficient enough for tuna?

Thanks everyone!

Upvote 0

saltwaterfish

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 13, 2010
Los Alamitos, CA
Name
Jason
Boat
looking for new one
here is the most important tip for your question. overnight are a waste 99% of the time. At least do a 1.5 day trip. Gives you about 4-5 hours more of fishing. overnight trips usually stop fishing around 2... and Lo Ann is a good boat.

Reactions: FWebb and jer dog
Upvote 0

fish_guts

Nov 17, 2008
Diamond bar Ca, USA
Name
Dominic
Boat
22.5 foot searay center console SOLD
Hi All,

Newbie here... so please bear with me

From the Los Angeles area. I went on my first sports fishing event last weeking (LA Harbor to Catalina, on the Gail Force). Was a bit seasick at the start but got through it and was able to catch two mackerels. I was really hoping for some Yellowtails or WSB. I hear San Diego is the spot to be for some Yellowtail and Tuna.

Could anyone recommend a boat that does a overnight trip? I don't think my sea legs are ready for anything longer than that. So far it looks like the New Lo An is a possibility but I don't see many fishing reports for that particular boat....