bob12201

I've posted enough I should edit this section
May 20, 2015
Laguna Beach
Name
Matt M.
Boat
I Wish
Short version: 6 ~25-30lb YFT 1 dodo all on the long soak after chunking. 3' 25lb fluro top shot with a 3/0 owner ringed circle hook was the bomb!

Hooked up with a buddy Rob and his son Blake who have a 20' Hydrasport dry docked at Dana. They had never fished offshore, and were hoping I could put them on the fish. I'm no expert, so I'm going to write this one off as beginners luck haha :D.

After reports of some good success at the 277 I decided to head out that way to try to get away from the crowds, but we didn't get anyone near there. Got a nice 1/2 scoop of perfect sized deans and sabiki'd some greenbacks and Spanish for chunk at the red buoy (I chummed with some dog food and they loved it!).

Headed out in the 277 direction, but stopped on a small patty about 8 miles off the beach we could see the parking lot about 2-3miles away but we were all alone thankfully. Fished the patty for about 15 minutes then I get hit on a dine... nice ~12lb dodo on deck. Got one more short bite, assume it was a dodo. Chunked and set out another lively sardine (we were way off the patty at this point), I hook up again but it doesn't take any drag and so I'm thinking its a small dodo or yt. Turns out to be a nice YFT with the worlds best foul hook. At this point our bait well looks like cool-aid (its an inline bait tank). So we drove around to cycle water through the tank and try to save our bait. Stopped and chunked while the bait looked good again. BAM 10min later im on again, hand it off to Blake and another YFT on the deck, and 5min later I hook another one on Rob's setup and he makes short work of that one! Seemed like they were everywhere. Had a big 7' hammerhead just chillin alongside us for 20min... he tried biting our outboard Lol!