Desperatehills

Well-Known "Member"
Sep 16, 2020
Southern Oregon
Name
James S HILL
Boat
Royal Star, Polaris Supreme
I am not a complete newbie but I am new to this site and my last long range trip was a fly down fly back trip on the royal star in 1999. I am sure a lot of things have changed since then and I have lots of questions. Thanks in advance for your replies and time.

My friend has talked me into going on the Polaris Supreme on a 10 day trip Nov 2-12. I have had 4 total weeks of vacations cancelled this year due to covid. This seemed like a great way to spend my time and get some fish for the freezer. I understand they have limits now. Probably a good idea, how do they work? Is the limit the same for a 10 day trip as a 4 day trip? I hear there is a point system. What are the points and how do you like to spend them?

Speaking of covid, what are the boats doing? I bought a couple of the sun cover style mask. I am not sure I can wear it for ten days straight though. The election will happen while we are out to sea, maybe the rules will change by then.

I am pretty well set on tackle. I recently picked up the deal of the century at a yard sale. I got 5 reels (Shimano TLD II 50,30,20 and Trinidad 40 & 16), 5 rods (shimano and fenwick) and a Roto molded tackle box (SKB) that is absolutely loaded with hooks, 30 plus Irons (salas, tady, etc), Wire and tools that I don't know how to use, and a lifetime supply of swivels and connectors. I thought I had plenty of gear from my trips 20 years ago. I opened up that box this weekend and it doesn't have 1/10th the gear as my yard sale find. In case you are curious I got all this for $1200