New to hunting

Discussion in 'Hunting Discussion' started by Chrislarson757, May 31, 2016.

1. Chrislarson757

Chrislarson757 Member

Name:
    Chris L
    Boat:
    When I get one...
    Hey BDers,

At the risk of exposing my newbie status, I'm looking for advice. Might be a long shot but I'm looking to go on my FIRST harvest. I'm looking at later this year at Big Horn Canyon Ranch for a pig or two (I smoke pork/ BBQ often and want to get my own meat this year). Will be me and another novice, so I would likely seek a guide at the ranch for assistance.

I need some pointers and recommendations. What to expect, what fire arms would be suitable (have owned a few guns but do not currently own any rifles/ long guns). Has anyone hunted here before?

Any and all advice would be much appreciated.

surfgoose likes this.
  2. JFK

JFK Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    James
    Boat:
    14' Livingston skiff
    I'm still new to hunting too and got much of my advice and info from guys on BD. Get a rifle and start practicing. All of the major brands make accurate rifles so it's more of a preference based on looks, feel and how much you want to spend b. You don't have to spend a bunch but do budget a chunk of change for the scope. 243 and up will work for pigs. Get your rifle and practice with it at the range as much as you can and shoot in field positions off sticks, off your pack or kneeling. Be able to confidently hit an area the size of your fist on target at 100 yards, then push it out to 200 yards.