New Accurate BV2-500L, not feeling the love on the East Coast.

Discussion in 'Accurate Fishing Reels Support Forum' started by Atomck1, Feb 28, 2019.

1. Atomck1

Atomck1 Newbie

Name:
    Tom McKelvey
    Boat:
    The Ark
    Hello, I’m a newbie who found this great site by searching for problems with Accurate Valiants. I’ve not gotten what could be described as good customer service, it’s more like zero customer service.

After purchasing 2- BV300CL’s a few months back I decided to pull the trigger on a new BV2-500L for an upcoming trip to Florida. My first impression was that the reel had a noticeably different finish in both polish and color, when compared to my Silver/Red 300. The overall finish was dull, and the red not nearly as vibrant. I digress, color is not my main concern, just an observation.

My main concern was “back play” in the handle, and to a lesser extent the spool. Out of the box, when put in gear to the strike setting the handle has play in it that I measured at nearly 1/4” at the end of the handle in high, and slightly more in low gear. There is zero play in the handles on either of my 300’s. Not being sure if this was inherent in 2 speed reels, I called Accurate early in their business day and was transferred to customer service where I left a message. With no call back nearing the end of the day I called again and was transferred to a voicemail again, I did not leave another message. I then went to the website and sent a message via their customer service link. The next morning I contacted my dealer to discuss my problem. He checked two reels, a BV2-500 had zero play in the handle. The BV-400 did have noticeable play in the handle, although he said it was somewhat less than what I described. He said he would contact the rep and let me know what finds out.