Needing advice from the pros, the vets, and the lucky. very much appreciated.

Envy115

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Aug 17, 2011
San Diego
Name
Tommy Chang
Boat
1989 Seaswirl
Hello fishermen.

So finally. its time. It's time to leave from San Diego and go on a 2 nighter. I am primarily a pier, jetty, and off the coast kind of fisherman. I have for the most part light gear, and the heaviest stuff i have is 15 pound test. I need a new setup. My other friend told me to get a big rod for the tuna and another setup for the yellowtail. Does that seem feasible? I don't have too much money and although I was considering renting something, I know the time will come when I would like to have my own gear for big tuna and even yellow tail. I don't have a reel for yellow tail yet. I'm thinking about this calcutta b for the yellow tail. but have no idea about the big tuna. I am a college student and dont have alot of money. but on the other hand really don't want to rent a rod, when I could use that money towards my own. I'm in a bind. Any suggestions for cheap but reliable gear and suggestions for the line for fail proof having to catch a tuna. I'm leaving in the end of August but need to prepare. PLEEEASE HELP! if you have some time or know some stuff about the big tuna fish. I rarely post on this forum cuz i'm never out on the boat doing it big like some of you lucky chaps out there. If you have any suggestions for gear, and just overall advice for a first time tuna fishing trip. Please. come one come all. thank you so much.!

Arima-bob

Ship faced aquaholic
Mar 9, 2012
Too far from water
Name
Beeulzebob
Boat
uh....