mpwvp

May 26, 2009
Honolulu,HI
Name
Masho !!
Boat
18'Larson CC Lani Wai
Howzit Tightliners,

I'm pretty new to offshore fishing and I bought a 18' Larson CC about a year ago. I wanted to buy a boat that was not to expensive but had enough creature comforts
to use for family cruz's to Waikiki and a little some mild offshore fishing. So far it has suited its purpose and now I am thinking of stepping up to a larger boat so I can feel a more safe going a longer distance like to the Banks or Molokai. I really like the CC boats that are available out there. However I am a little concerned about swamping etc. I was thinking about buying a
Glacier Bay,Edgewater,Boston Whaler,Mako, all in the
24'-27' length.

So here is my question.

Is it safe to cross the Kaiwi channel in a CC boat? do I have a better chance of getting swamped in a boat that is that open? Have any of you been swamped before in a
CC boat? I would love to hear your story if you did.

The reason why I like CC boats is because of the ablity to take my family and friends out for mild cruz's and having the open bow for additional seating, however I am more concerned with safty then comfort.

I really appreciate all your wisdom,and opinions.

Mahalo's and tight lines everyone.

Aloha,

Marshall

waimalu

May 12, 2009
Kailua, Hawaii USA
Name
Waimalu
Boat
33' Blackfin Flybridge
Here's my 2 cents, all the boats you mention are solid CC boats and if driven safely in reasonable conditions should be good for the channel run. Folks take 17' whaler montauks across in crazy conditions all the time. A CC of equal size will be cheaper than a cab boat and also much wetter when conditions get snotty out in the channel. I'd say sea trial as many boats as you can - jump on friend's boats before you make a decision. There are a few GB owners on this forum who might be willing to share a ride.

molokaipake

May 8, 2008
Kaunakakai, Molokai, USA
Name
capt clay
Boat