need help with LS Supreme "light stable" (new user)

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Building Forum' started by steelfish, Feb 24, 2017.

1. steelfish

steelfish the BBB, Baja Bass Boy..

Name:
    Alex
    Boat:
    Boatless
    Im a new user of LS Supreme Duragloss "light stable"

a little backgound, Im still kind of new to rod building but already have re-build 5 rods and everyone is getting better everytime.
    I started using Flexcoat, then I moved to Diamond II finish y both cases I got really good results using the epoxies, I was amazed by D-II finish but was getting a really short pot life, recently I got an order from a local fishing charter for re-building 8 rods and then I needed to get a bigger bottle of epoxy and I was recommended by fiend to use LS supreme since it has a long pot life and have good reviews, so I ordered a Gallon of product.

well, what it worked for FC or Diamond II finish it just dont work with this finish, I mean, on a long decorative wrap I just getting tons of lumps and uneven epoxy, same deal when appling it on the guides, it was less noticiable because are shorter but really ugly on the decorative trim, its seems thats its not much "self leveling" like Diamond II is.
    I tryed a second coat of LS finsih but it only got worst, when normally on the 2nd coat I fix any noticiable fail on the finish but this time it was as bad as the 1st coat.
    I know that epoxy brands might have different formula and work different but I have tried three times now on scrap fishing rods but still no avail to get a nice crystal clear and smooth finish like with D-II.

some facts:
    - Im pretty sure I mix 1-1 portions, the resin on LS is pretty thick, I warmed the resin on a small bottle inside of a cup with warm water for about 5 minutes and that make it more liquid and let me mix it and work easily but still with the problems with lumps and some bubbles.