Need help on what Optima battery to get!!

Adam helbert

Nov 27, 2016
Corona
Name
Adam Helbert
Boat
Buying soon
Hey guys I got a 14 foot aluminum that I got a trolling motor for and I need a battery to power to motor lights bait pump and fish finder. I've heard nothing but good things about Optima batteries and want to go with that but not sure what to get? Also where should the battery be in the boat? Can it be in the back of the boat next to gas tank or is that big no no? Might be stupid question but it's my first boat so I'm still learning g . Thanks guys!!

skipjack

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Oct 20, 2004
santa maria
Name
skip
Boat
2320 Parker "Donna Marie"
My buddy used to own a battery shop.
He said he had more warranty problems with Optima batteries than any other brand.
"Optimus are great for airplanes because they don't leak,but nothing else."

Reactions: tuner and plj46

Eatmorfish

Livin' on borrowed time
Sep 16, 2015
Upland, CA
Name
John
Boat
2018 234 Mako CC
Costco has an Interstate 27DC deep cycle Marine/RV 12V battery for $87.99. Should run your trolling motor all day. Use the 1/4" lugs to attach your cables, (not the alligator clips) that way they cannot arc, and you can set the battery near your gas tank.

Last edited:

Postal719

Jul 7, 2016
Carlsbad, CA
Name
Ryan
Boat
23' Polar Walkaround
Optima used to be the best but sold out several years ago and are now made in Mexico. They no longer have the same reputation. I'd look for a USA made agm marine battery.

plj46

Jan 7, 2008
Socal
Name
john
Boat
24 ft grady white
As far as battery placement goes,try NOT to put it the back of the boat.

Reactions: Adam helbert

Derby

My "Member" is Well Known.
Sep 9, 2010
SouthBay SF
Name
The Kid
Boat
Aquasport 222 FFV
14' Aluminum....is the trolling motor your only motor?

Is it bow or stern mount?

Costco dual purpose lead acid batteries have been great for me.

Long Beach Bob

May 13, 2004
Long Beach and points due west
Name
Bob Ballew
Boat