Mushy shrimp.....

Discussion in 'Washington Fishing Reports' started by Jaksonbrown, May 20, 2013.

1. Jaksonbrown

Jaksonbrown Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Cory
    Boat:
    28' Kingfisher Weekender "The Wild Rose"
    Ok...

So I thought I was a bit of a cook, but after last nights spot prawn cookout.....

I have prepared spot prawns many times, but last nights fresh prawns turned out mushy!?? I have never had hood canal prawns before, but I don't imagine they could be that much different than the ones we get up north in the San Juans....
    I usually twist off the heads and then slice open the top of the shell to remove the blood vein, but that's about all I do. Garlic and butter.. a little Tonys seasonings and its usually to die for. Last nights were mushy.....

Anyone ever have this happen before? Any ideas?

How do you prepare your prawns?
    Do you leave them in the shell? Cut it in half? Remove them?

Lets have your favorite prawn dishes and methods!!

2. sdfishkiller

sdfishkiller Cod Smuggler

Name:
    Todd Mora
    Boat:
    19' Whaler: EL SUPER LIZARDFISH
    were they alive when you cooked them? besides the beheading part. :)

3. blowboater

blowboater Fishing with Papa

Name:
    Joel
    Boat:
    35' cheoy lee - Sold
    they get mushy if you cook them too long. need about a minute (maybe a little more) on each side. I've screwed them up myself a couple of times - they get super soft and mushy if cooked too long.

my favorite way to eat them is raw!

when i cook them i peel off all the shell first. it's just easier.

last night had a spot prawn feast - raw as sashimi to start, then some miso using shrimp stock, followed by a salad topped with prawns sauteed in olive oil with shallots - topped with a squeezed lemon and sea salt.

Didn't want any of the pork tenderloin after all that. :-)