Eddy C

Geezer
May 3, 2011
Whidbey
Name
Harry Ottoway
Boat
Glasply
I have a 15lb. mold for downrigger ball I have some lead. I have an old cast iron pot for melting. How do I pour the lead into the little hole in the mold? I've never done this before.
Looking for advice please. Do I need more eguipment and where do I find it?....Thanks

watsoncali

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Feb 3, 2008
San Diego, Ca
Name
Billy
Boat
"The Dog House" (Defiance 220 EX) & a 17' aluminum boat
Heat up the lead in the pot over a fire and pour, check out youtube

Hewes OP

Night Crawlers & Powerbait Baby!!
Apr 2, 2010
Arlington, WA
Name
Geoff
Boat
Hewes OceanPro "TIN-ASS-CITY" & Starcraft 1648 Mod V for the ducks
Pick up a old cast iron tea kettle they work pretty good for just starting out.

Make sure you lead does not have any pockets of water in it. If it does when the water hits the melted lead it flash boils and can explode.

Dragonballs should be putting on his anual lead pour event pretty soon. He has a wonderful contraption for doing this and you can BS with a bunch of good people pour some lead and enjoy some good food.

Team Sency

Fish!! Or be Fished!!!
Jan 6, 2012
Black Diamond
Name
Chris
Boat
JuiceBox2
Clean lead!

Put pot on propane burner...

Thick ass gloves(serious hot potatoe!).

Safety googles/thick clothes.

Mold release spray(Pam for lead melting)

Clamps for your mold to have tight to stop leakage. Stinkin leakage!

Pour in steady and give a bit extra pour....bam!!!!!

Take to LineX!! Super Bam!

....I get feeling no Vance Lead Delight this year??

Last edited:
Reactions: BugeaterInWa

KimH

Someday I'll live the dream.
Mar 4, 2009
Tacoma/Westport WA/USA
Name
Kim
Boat
26' Duckworth..."Mayhem"
Clean lead!

I've never done this but.....respirator????

Team Sency

Fish!! Or be Fished!!!
Jan 6, 2012
Black Diamond
Name
Chris
Boat
JuiceBox2
Probably wouldn't hurt to use the white mouth/nose cover...but what is breathing in a lil lead gunna hurt??

Elkfins