Make a Towline (Well, How I did it anyway).

tambs

Yo BD! Color Screens-Invented Mid '50s. Jus sayin.
Oct 1, 2009
Tri-Cities, WA
Name
Tom
Boat
"Bottom Line" - 25' Carolina Classic SF
I'm no towing expert, nor claim to be any sort of line rigging expert. But, I do a fair amount of towing at work, and have used a number of different setups. This is one (of five) that I built recently, and they seem to be working pretty good. So I thought I'd share it with you all in case anyone is thinking of adding a towline to their own boat. I don't proclaim this as a best line/method/splice/etc., I just offer it up as something I've done that seems to be working out pretty well. I welcome any and all comments or suggestions for improvements.

I started with a 500' spool of Samson Amsteel Blue 12-strand single braid line, as this stuff has some pretty attractive characteristics. It has a low specific gravity, so it floats. This is pretty important at times when you might need to throttle down, and desire to keep any slack in the line from sinking into your prop. While floating line is nice, and helps, there's no substitute for having a crew member keeping a close watch on it. This line also has extremely low stretch, so the towed vessel is going to stay pretty much where you put it. Lines that stretch also tend to have a rubber band effect when they part, so a line that stretches but a little should be less inclined to come whipping past your head (or through it) in the unfortunate event that the line separates. The downside to a low-stretch line is that it can be rather unforgiving on hardware and attachment points. If you get a bit overzealous on the throttle while there's any slack in the line, all the energy will be transferred fairly harshly to mooring cleats, towing bits, bow eyes, line hardware, etc.