Heatmaster75

That was fast....
Jul 20, 2019
Western Montana
Name
Rather Be Fishing
Boat
Harbercraft
The Yellowtail bite has been pretty good lately. Fished on the Jazive. Made mackerel just a little southeast of Coronado with the rest of the panga fleet then jumped across to the North East side of Carmen. Slow trolled macks in traditional panga skipper style. We picked up two by 10 ish then it shut off. Hopped around the island to a few spots, lots of suspended fish on the sonar, and over the high spots. Had my Mom and rest of the family, good enough for the day and headed for the marina around 2.

One thing I don't really understand is the whole dragging bait no matter what thing.
I asked the the skipper a couple of times if I could toss some gear and he wasn't really having it. I didn't push the issue cause we had a full boat with all 5 of us, but going again tomorrow and will remedy that. I brought a decent color selection of yo-yo, surface iron, snipers, hooks, etc. I'm a noob gringo, but jeez, let me throw some of my gear! The bait wasn't getting it done.

Anyways, fishing was a little off for us yesterday, but all intel from the previous few days indicated the bite had been doing great. Maybe the moon... lots of sardines around too. Did not see much action on the surface throughout the day. Still had a blast, and my daughter caught her first yellow.

Tomorrow's another day!
IMG_0959.jpg

smokinwater

"Fire's Out!"
Apr 27, 2011
Chula Vista, CA
Name
Jon
Boat
won't b mine
Have to agree they were less enthused about my arsenal i put together than I was excited putting it together. The YT are def there. Was there a week ago and boils all around. We trolled them on a twelve (?) oz sinker. Hopefully a better day coming. Congrats to the daughter!!

Reactions: Heatmaster75
Upvote 0

michael e. bingham

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 26, 2015
Name
Pura Vida
Boat
Pura Vida 30' Custom Panga