kstearns24

Jun 26, 2014
Burbank
Name
Kyle
Boat
Still Saving
What’s up BD people!

I’m hoping to gain some salty knowledge with this post and appreciate any help I can get! I’m relatively new to offshore fishing so please excuse and correct me if I’m not using the right terminology.

My buddies and I go out 1 to 2 times a week during the summer/fall months. We are exclusively fishing waters within a 45 mile radius of San Diego but usually hit the north/south 9, 181/182, 302, and 425 areas.

Were fishing on a 33’ eggharbor which has a pair of outriggers and 5 rod holders on the transom. Our typical spread consists of teasers or jetheads on the outriggers, cedar plugs and halco (or something similar) on the flat line with clips, and then another rod on the fly bridge rod holder with a bird and another lure. We are practically trolling any time we’re not stopped and over the last two years have only managed to get some skipjack and bonito to come up and grab the lures. We mainly target tuna, yellowtail, and dorado but have a couple marlin jigs out just in case.

Anyway, I’m looking for tips from people who’ve had some success trolling for our target species in the last couple years and I have a couple questions:

What type of lures/jigs are working and are there specific jigs for specific species mentioned above?

What colors jigs are working and should we change based on water/sky conditions or any other variables?

How far back should we troll each jig?

Are line specs a significant factor? If so, what is ideal? (I.e. color, type, lb test)

Tips for trolling around paddies, bird action, and boiling fish?

Anything else that we should know/consider?

We greatly appreciate any feedback and information we can get! Tight lines!!!

Last edited:

Yuri_SD

Sep 11, 2019
San Diego
Name
Yuri
Boat
none
Hi there,
No advice from as I'm new to ocean fishing, but in similar situation and wanted to give your post a bump.