Long Range Topshots

Discussion in 'San Diego Long Range fishing Reports' started by Terryw, Mar 30, 2016.

1. Terryw

Terryw Capitan

Name:
    Terry
    Boat:
    Sold
    I am fairly new to the long range trips. One under my belt. I have committed to making topshots for an upcoming trip in a few weeks. I made a jig and have most of the materials. Can any of you long time, long rangers point me to some good tutorials for making the wind ons? I will be inserting into hollow. No crimps. Also, what would you consider an ideal length? 15'? Thinking shorter might get bit a little better and would just require changing out a little bit more frequently.

Thanks for your help on a topic that has probably been beaten to death.

2. dtf

dtf Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    David
    Boat:
    22ft, Pursuit
    Sounds like your on the right path. Twelve inches or so of insertion, nail knots and some tack glue, good to go. Nothing wrong with 15 feet, anglers choice.
    Google and you will find all the U-tube videos you will want.

3. Steve K

Steve K Hey, I'm gettin' bit...

Name:
    Steve
    Boat:
    18' Bayrunner, but I like the American Angler and the Red Rooster III
    "made a jig"

Is this to hold the lines taut for a serve?

4. dh515

dh515 I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    David
    Boat:
    Sportboats
    This Blackwater video is a good one, using a nail knot. I'd use two and glue the knots and area in between. In the video, he uses an eight turn nail knot. I use a four turn but with at least 100# solid. You need to pull the knot really tight until it is translucent and it's hard to break 100#.

5. Squid Sammich

Squid Sammich Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Matt
    Boat:
    To be determined
    One thing he did in that video that I have heard you shouldn't do is apply the glue to fuzzy end. The reason being glue on the fuzz can actully make large snag to get hung in your guides.

6. Terryw

Terryw Capitan

Name:
    Terry
    Boat: