Long range fishing out of San Diego for a relative newbie

Discussion in 'San Diego Long Range fishing Reports' started by flickfish, Dec 8, 2015.

1. flickfish

flickfish Member

Name:
    Nic
    Boat:
    Sea Wolf
    Hey there folks! I was just in San Diego and picked up a brochure for a long range fishing charter and I've been researching it since (I didn't know such charters existed). I really want to go on a multi-day trip but I'm a relative newbie when it comes to that kind of fishing.

To give you an idea, I've fished all my life and have done a lot of ocean fishing, mostly trolling in the Indian Ocean with Rapalas and have done long, single day, trips on fiberglass vessels which barely held together. This was in my teen years though. My fishing now is mostly restricted to bass fishing with my brother-in-law who is an absolute bass fishing nut. Every now and again, when I go on tropical vacations, I make it a point to charter a boat and go out fishing. I'm also starting to go on charters out of the SF Bay Area for salmon and rock fish. I own a decent amount of tackle but it's mostly restricted to bass fishing gear. All I own in terms of ocean tackle is a Penn Senator 4/0 with 30# test and an Ugly Stik Tiger along with some lures and miscellaneous bits.

I've looked at a lot of long range boats out of SD and I seem to be gravitating towards the Excel. It seems that they're the most newbie-friendly from their website and videos. It also seems like one of the nicer setups in the fleet (though they all look pretty good). I'd wanna go on a 5-7 day trip.

Which boat do you recommend for someone with my experience level? Do you recommend I get any gear of my own at all? If so, what's a good, middle of the road setup you recommend? All the boat websites suggest to bring along 3-5 rod and reel setups, I'd like to start with at least one.