Long Beach lobsters

Jonelli

Mar 30, 2020
OC, CA
Name
jonas domkus
Boat
Catalina 30
I’ve lobstered in Catalina, (I’m a newbie) with a friend and his traps.

My question is about local guidelines.My boat is Alamitos Bay. Where am I not allowed to drop traps? I’ve seen and read plenty of people talking about lobstering in “LB Harbor”. Is that INSIDE the break??
I didn’t think it was okay to drop traps inside the break. Are there rules or a map posted somewhere?

Second, I don’t usually fish for much of anything edible in that area anyway,and I don’t see anything online about ddt contamination in lobsters. Looks like plenty of folks fish for them. Are they part of any “do not eat more than...” lists inside the red zone? And no, I won’t call you to help dispose of them.

Upvote 0

SergeyS

Oct 8, 2020
Huntington Beach
charkbait.com
Name
Sergey Smith
Boat
Imaginary
Don't think there are too many specific regulations, most of the harbor is accessible to fishing which will also let you drop nets in those areas. You might get some grief hooping around the prison, but that's about it.

Lobsters don't filter feed so there should be no issue as far as chemical contamination. Eating too much of anything probably isn't good.

Upvote 0

DonnieD

Shit...where's the beer
  • May 27, 2015
    SD
    Name
    Donnie D
    Boat
    FINBOMB
    You'll be just fine inside as long as you're not in the shipping lanes...and I've eaten plenty out of there...the only seizures I get are Tuesdays and Fridays

Upvote 0

Jonelli

Mar 30, 2020
    OC, CA
    Name
    jonas domkus
    Boat
    Catalina 30
    I don’t go out at night too often. I always see trap floats just outside the wall there. Assuming those are commercial guys?

Upvote 0

Trayscool

Captain
    Sep 26, 2008
    Long Beach
    www.skipjackmafia.com
    Name
    Travis
    Boat
    NO BOATS
    You can hoop inside the harbor, ive only been told to leave by the police boat on the inside of the middle breakwall before.