Lets spool my jx raptors what should I fill them with?

Avet Reels

tmcustoms

Dec 30, 2012
Sacramento Ca
Name
Taylor Posey
Boat
Baby Lobster
Just picked up 2 jx raptors Im going to pair them with a abyss 808 and a abyss 909 hoping to throw some jigs and live bait on them as I am pretty new with saltwater fishing top shots ect looking for some advice on what to spool them with and how long of top shots ect? Bass fishing I use all power pro braid and love it, what are the preferred brand of braid for tuna? Thanks

Baller

Jig Chucker
Nov 16, 2010
La Mesa
Name
Bill
Boat
American Angler
65# braid. To the top it will take 400 yds. short tops shot of your choice...

OR

Same braid but a longer top shot of 100 yds if you are yo yo fishing or surface iron

Olddog8

May 13, 2012
Poway,ca
Name
Rick
Boat
Sold long ago
I have 65lb solid on one and 80lb solid on my second one. Both are full tie on a small flouro leader to match the need. The JX and MXJ raptors are my favorite reals.

qtrracer

Jan 17, 2010
Simi Valley, CA
Name
Paul
Boat
none
The bait reel, 60lb or 80lb hollow leaving room for about 25' of flourocarbon,
the jig reel, 65 lb or 80lb solid leaving room for about 100 yards of 50lb mono.
Jerry Brown or Power Pro are both fine. Izor is good as well.

Reactions: Frijolez

Frijolez

Apr 22, 2013
Huntington Beach, ca, u.s.a.
Name
Dan
Boat
Mako 192 cc
I just recently got into throwing iron and yo-yo fishing as I got my boat last year. I have posted a few questions and this is basically what I learned and my opinion. I have a JX raptor and a JX 6/3.