Shorelinewash

Dec 11, 2016
Shoreline, WA
Name
D-
Boat
18' North River Seahawk
Hi all,

First off, I'm new to BD and loving the banter and insight. I'm hopeful you may be willing to share some of your experience and opinions here.

I will be purchasing an aluminum boat by years end and am looking for input. I'm leaning towards buying new, in part, with end of month and end of year sales goals pending, I'm hopeful I may be able to save a few $$. At this moment I'm leaning towards an 18' Stryker new or low hours. I've seen some used North River Seahawks that look awesome but have 500 plus hours on the motors and not enough savings to interest me.

I've heard that the Strykers don't ride as smooth as the North River or Duckworth, do any of you have first hand experience with that? I've spent plenty of time on a buddy's 18' North River and sure it is nice, but it's an 18' aluminum, how much worse can the Stryker be? Maybe it can, I don't know.

The interior width of at least 72" is important to me as well.

Thanks in advance for any insight or opinions on any 18' aluminum and buying used or new.

D-

Reel Hooker

“Ice Melter”
Sep 9, 2013
Carnation
www.metropolitandetail.com
Name
Benjamin
Boat
Parker 2320 Long Cabin 'REEL HOOKER'
Prop or pump?

THe stryker is rougher riding for sure! Been in both, with pumps and props. My suggestion is ride in both. And don't be cheap when buying aluminum, you're already buying an expensive boat, what's a couple thousand more at that point?

I suggest you don't rush into this purchase and really buy what you want not based on price, but based on what you think you'll use. The NR is a bad ass boat and you get a lot more than just a name. 18' stryker is one to buy used in my opinion, there are lots for sale, why not sure, but they are on the market.

And follow mike's instruction and max that puppies power out, all boats are under powered and if you max it, you'll love it and resale value will increase!!

Rougarou

One More Pass?